Various characteristics of diamonds are graded and categorised by the diamond industry. To learn about diamonds is to first learn about the “Four C’s” of diamonds, the four characteristics which are considered the most important in determining a diamond’s value…

  • Cut
  • Clarity
  • Colour
  • Carat Weight

These are the criteria jewellers use when grading diamonds, and they are the ones you will need to understand to buy the right diamond for you.

There is also a “Fifth C”, Certificates!

The Cut

The Cut is probably the most important, and most challenging of the four Cs to understand. The brilliance of a diamond depends heavily on its cut.

The Clarity

Clarity of Diamonds

Most diamonds contain some inner flaws, or inclusions that occur during the formation process. The visibility, number, and size of these inclusions determine what is called the clarity of a diamond. Diamonds that are clear create more brilliance, and therefore, are more highly prized, and priced.

The Colour

Colour of Diamonds

Colourless diamonds are the most desirable of diamonds since they allow the most refraction of light (sparkle). Off-white diamonds absorb light, inhibiting the brilliance.

The Carat Weight

Carat Weight of Diamonds

A carat is the unit of weight by which a diamond is measured. Because large diamonds are found less commonly than small diamonds, the price of a diamond rises exponentionaly to its size.

The Fifth CCertificates

The diamond certificate (grading report) is a complete evaluation of your diamond. Sometimes known as its “birth certificate”, this has been created by a qualified professional with the help of special gemological instruments. Each stone bears its own recognisable and individual characteristics which are listed on the certificate.